Why I Love Reading

Hey Fellow Book-Lovers,

2055336061_white_black_i_love_reading_by_wam_kids_shirts_design_answer_1_xlarge

From the picture, you might guess what today’s post is about. A while ago, I wrote about my first real memory of reading. In it though, I don’t think I truly made it clear why I love reading so very much. I feel like it’s time to rectify that. My love of reading doesn’t just come from the fact that it’s something my parent’s fostered with me, or the fact that visiting the library weekly became something of a family tradition. It’s something deeper than that. As Thomas Jefferson once said, “I cannot live without books.”

Now, I know you might not think I’m being serious, but I am. For me, books are my one true pleasure in life. I could not survive without reading. When I come home from a stressful day, have a fight with a friend or a family member, or just whatever, I can pick up a book and that will all just disappear.

Reading comforts me. It gives me something to look forward to. Reading broadens my mind and gives me something new and different to think about. It brings back memories of childhood and carefree times. Reading can give me new perspective on life or let me see things in  a whole different light. It draws emotions from me and makes me feel things I never though possible from just black ink on paper (admit it, a few books have brought you to tears before or have made you laugh out loud like they’ve done to me).  I think I would go crazy if I couldn’t read; it truly is that big a part of my life.

You may be thinking, “Wow, that’s one obsessed lady,” and you may be right, or, you may not have found something you’re as truly passionate about as I am about reading. I think Nora Ephron sums up my feelings best when she said,

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on . . . Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it’s a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it’s a way of making contact with someone else’s imagination after a day that’s all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

Comment below telling me why you love reading.

__________________________________________________

Photo Credit I ❤ Reading

One response to “Why I Love Reading

  • Doretha

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may come back
    very soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a
    nice day!

Leave a Reply

