Review: Last Kiss Tonight

Hey Book-Lovers,

I know I left off last time by reviewing Obsidian, and you are probably expecting me to review the next one, Onyx, now. I did read it, and I will review it, but just not just yet. Right now, I want to talk about Last Kiss Tonight by Gena Showalter, because it’s got me so riled up.

Book: Last Kiss Goodnight

Author: Gena Showalter

Genre: Romance (Paranormal)

Series: Yes. First in s series

My Rating: 2.5

Summary (Taken from Goodreads)

THE SWEETEST TEMPTATION…

Black ops agent Solomon Judah awakens caged and bound in a twisted zoo where otherworlders are the main attraction. Vika Lukas, the owner’s daughter, is tasked with Solo’s care and feeding.  The monster inside him yearns to kill her on sight, even though she holds the key to his escape. But the human side of him realizes the beautiful deaf girl is more than she seems—she’s his.

THE ULTIMATE PRICE…

Vika endures the captives’ taunts and loathing, hoping to keep them alive even if she can’t free them.  Only, Solo is different—he protects her. But as hostility turns to forbidden romance, his feelings for her will be used against him…and he’ll be put to a killer test.

Review:

To be perfectly honest, I am seriously in love with Gena Showalter. I usually buy all her books without hesitation because I love the worlds she creates through her writing, the alpha men and the strong-willed leading ladies, and just her overall writing style; it’s open and true to actual human thought patterns and behaviors while also being funny as all get-out. So when I saw she had released a new series that has the same alien races in it as one of her other series, well, let’s just say that I was happy and excited enough to let out a fan girl squeal when I saw the book in the bookstore. That being said, I was seriously disappointed with this book.

Vika was weak and totally dependent on others. She was nothing like the leading lady I had come to expect from Ms. Showalter. Yes, I know she’s abused and deaf, but seriously? She had no personality outside of her whole perfect angel image. The same could be said about her male counterpart, Solo. He didn’t seem to have any real character depth either.  In the beginning of the book, he’s portrayed as this total badass (excuse my language), but that’s all you ever see of that. The rest of the time, he’s this giant teddy bear who acts and thinks like a five-year old, not the alien assassin he’s supposed to be.

And let’s not forget the romance between the two. It’s pretty much a love at first sight thing. I despise love at first sight. When reading a book, I want to see the love develop over time, not just be instantaneous. I want to be able to feel the tension between the two, to feel like it could actually happen. I can deal with lust and first sight. That’s understandable, but love? Come on.

I don’t mean to continually bash the book. There were some good things about it. I liked the setting, and where I believe the series is going to be heading, based off of where this one ended. The dialogue and inner monologues did have me smiling and okay, laughing a few times. So it’s not completely bad. I guess, I’m just disappointed with it.

Comment below and tell me what you thought of it. I’d love to hear some contradicting opinions.

Leave a Reply

