Book Review: The Edge of Never

Hey Fellow Book Lovers,

So today, I’m reviewing my first book for the blog. So, without any further ado, please read on.

Book: The Edge of Never

Author: J. A. Redmerski

Genre: Adult Fiction (17+)

My Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Quick Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett thought she knew exactly where her life was going. But after a wild night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she shocks everyone-including herself-when she decides to leave the only life she’s ever known and set out on her own. Grabbing her purse and her cell phone, Camryn boards a Greyhound bus ready to find herself. Instead, she finds Andrew Parrish.

Sexy and exciting, Andrew lives life like there is no tomorrow. He persuades Camryn to do things she never thought she would and shows her how to give in to her deepest, most forbidden desires. Soon he becomes the center of her daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But there is more to Andrew than Camryn realizes. Will his secret push them inseparably together-or destroy them forever?

Review:

I was pretty interested in reading this book. The main protagonist, Camryn, can’t seem to find her place in the world and doesn’t really fit in. I can relate to that. Most of us can probably relate to that. Add to the mix her spunky attitude and a hunky guy she meets while doing her soul-searching, and I’m all in.

Fist the good. The book and the characters are well written, with back stories that are laid out over time, not dumped on you all at once. The plot was interesting and not a copy of something else I’ve read like a lot of books seem to be today. However, the book had a few issues for me.

So now it’s time for the bad. Camryn starts out as independent and sarcastic, but later becomes a bit of a wimp. She lost her fighter spirit and instead become really submissive. Also, Andrew turned into a completely overbearing cave man who ordered Camryn about, telling her how their little road trip was going to go down, while she just meekly agreed. That just annoyed me to no end. But at least it didn’t continue for long. Finally, the end really threw me for a loop. The  author led me to believe one thing was going to happen (causing me to tear up truth be told), and instead did a one-eighty. Honestly, I would have been happier with the sad ending.

So, overall, I liked the book. It drew me in and caused me to tear up and feel for the characters and their plight. I liked the characters, for the most part. The plot was interesting and well written. The issues I had with the characters only came up sporadically, so all in all, a good read.

Leave a comment below telling me what you thought of the book.

Leave a Reply

